The Biorepository and Pathology Core

Overview of Services

The Biorepository and Pathology CORE provides basic histology services including the capability to process, embed and section fixed and frozen tissues (both animal and human) for Mount Sinai and the external academic and biopharmaceutical community. The facility is also able to generate tissue microarrays (TMAs) utilizing materials directly from the biorepository, animal model systems or in coordination with the clinical pathology service. The facility will prepare unstained slides suitable for a variety of applications such as histochemistry, immunohistochemistry (IHC), immunofluorescence (IF), in situ hybridization (ISH), Laser capture microdissection (LMD), as well as hematoxylin and eosin (H&E) and other special stains for routine light microscopic evaluation. We also support DNA/RNA/miRNA extraction from fluids and tissue specimens (both fixed and frozen) and we have a digital scanning and image analysis service.

The Biorepository currently supports functions for tissue/body fluid procurement, storage and tracking from consented and de-identified collections. Pathologists responsible for procurement can be contacted for consultation to determine investigator requirements for human specimens in translational research, and then arrange procurement as feasible.

Leadership

Dr. Michael Donovan, MD, PhD
Director of Experimental Pathology & Biorepository
Phone: 212-241-4868
Email: michael.donovan@mssm.edu

 

Dr. Rafael Cabal-Manzano, MD
Senior Experimental Pathologist

Phone:212-241-2841
Email: rafael.cabal@mountsinai.org

 

Tin Htwe Thin, PhD
Shared Resource Manager
Phone: 212-241-6050
Email: tinhtwe.thin@mssm.edu

 

Marlon Suarez
Research Laboratory Manager
Phone: 212-241-7582
Email: marlon.suarez@mssm.edu

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

Monday - Friday 8:00am-7:00pm 

ATRAN-BERG Building 6th Floor, Room 10
1428 Madison Avenue 99th Street
New York, NY 10029

Links and Resources

  1. The Biorepository and Pathology CORE website. 
  2. The Biorepository and Pathology list of services offered. 
  3. Electronic Research Application Portal (eRAP) Login

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Dr. Michael Donovan, MD, phD
Director of Experimental Pathology & Biorepository
 
212-241-4868
 
michael.donovan@mssm.edu
 
Annenberg 15-56
 
Dr. Rafael Cabal-Manzano MD
Dr. Senior Experimental Pathologist
 
212-241-2841
 
rafael.cabal@mountsinai.org
 
Annenberg 15-24
 
Javier Martin-Fenandez
Data Management
 
212-241-2841
 
javier.martin-fernandez@mssm.edu
 
Annenberg 15-24
 
Tin Htwe Thin, PhD
Shared Resource Manager
 
212-241-6050
 
tinhtwe.thin@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Marlon Suárez
Research Laboratory Manager
 
212-241-7582
 
marlon.suarez@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Olha Fedoryshyn
Research Associate
 
212-241-2841
 
olha.fedoryshyn@mssm.edu
 
Annenberg 15-24
 
Yayoi Kinoshita
Research Associate
 
212-241-4414
 
yayoi.kinoshita@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Anastasiya Dzhun
Research Associate
 
212-241-3539
 
anastasiya.dzhun@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Alan Soto
Senior Research Associate
 
212-241-7582
 
alan.soto@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Lisette Conde
Senior Research Associate
 
212-241-7582
 
lisette.conde@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Paul Macias
Histology Technician
 
212-241-7582
 
paul.macias@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 
Siarhei Dzedzik
Senior Associate Researcher
 
212-241-7510
 
siarhei.dzedzik@mssm.edu
 
ATRAN 610
 

Map